[Feature Request] Brief Introduction and Questions

Improve VPaint or VGC software by giving your feedback, reporting bugs, or suggesting new features.
moredesigners

Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:51 am

Good evening to the developers of this software!

A colleague recommended this application to me today, and I'm absolutely stunned. Without trying to be overly dramatic I believe VPaint is the kind of software the open-source animation scene has been needing for a good while. A simple goal-oriented application to actually create animation, and hand-drawn (with the occasional computer assisted inbetweening) no less!

I'll share a bit of my background. I'm an Independent Animator, I've directed the animation of a children microseries called "Capybara" and have used tools from pen & paper to digital cut-out puppetry to 3D animated techniques. Through my work I've been acquainted with different commercial animation software packages such as TVPaint Animation, Toon Boom Harmony, Anime Studio (previously Moho), CTP Pro Animation, Digicel Flipbook, among other hand-drawn animation solutions. So hopefully I can provide some concept and insight into features that are definitely used in production.

I hope it is ok to submit my inquiries here, I've already read all of the Feature Requests that other members have submitted, and I've removed similar entries I had for the sake of brevity. But I want to contribute to this software however I can since I believe it's an integral part of making a production ready tool.

I'll list a few critical elements and as time passes I'll add more, depending on how the program evolves.